Skip to content

CCaaS in 2026: the 5 Gartner Leaders, published pricing from RingCX $65 to Five9 $159, and the AI ARR figures vendors actually disclose.

What is CCaaS? Contact Center as a Service Explained for 2026 Buyers

What is CCaaS? Contact Center as a Service Explained for 2026 Buyers
15
Vendors reviewed
20
Integrations tracked
16
Comparisons
2026
Last verified

CCaaS — Contact Center as a Service is the cloud-delivered category that has absorbed almost every new contact center buying decision since 2018. The 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CCaaS, published September 8, 2025, named five Leaders: NiCE, Genesys, Five9, Talkdesk, and AWS Amazon Connect. This guide covers verified pricing, disclosed AI revenue, and the structural caveats every evaluation should weigh.

Five vendors hold the 2025 Gartner CCaaS Leaders quadrant. NICE took the highest position on Ability to Execute and the furthest on Completeness of Vision. Talkdesk entered the Leaders quadrant for the first time after four prior Magic Quadrant appearances outside it. Cisco’s Webex Contact Center dropped from Challenger in 2024 to Niche Player in 2025. 8x8 dropped to Honorable Mention and quietly removed all list pricing from its public website during 2026.

CCaaS, short for Contact Center as a Service, is the cloud-delivered category that has absorbed almost every new contact center buying decision since 2018. This guide covers what CCaaS is, who the verified Leaders are, what each vendor publishes about pricing, which vendors disclose AI revenue in earnings calls (and which do not), and the structural caveats every 2026 evaluation should weigh. Where evidence is absent, the guide says so. Where evidence exists, it is sourced.

Five vendors hold the 2025 Leaders quadrant

The Gartner Magic Quadrant for CCaaS was published on September 8, 2025. Industry analyst Call Centre Helper described it as “real movement after years of relative stability.” The five Leaders, in order of the analyst recognition each vendor cited:

  • NiCE. 11th consecutive year as Leader. Positioned highest on Ability to Execute. Positioned furthest on Completeness of Vision.
  • Genesys. 11th consecutive year as Leader.
  • Five9. 8th time as Leader. Recognised for Completeness of Vision and Ability to Execute.
  • Talkdesk. First time in the Leaders quadrant, on its 5th MQ appearance.
  • AWS Amazon Connect. 3rd consecutive year as Leader.

The other 2025 movements matter for your procurement team if you weight analyst placement heavily. Cisco Webex Contact Center fell from Challenger in 2024 to Niche Player in 2025. 8x8, a Leader in earlier MQ cycles, fell to Honorable Mention. RingCentral, Vonage, Dialpad, Nextiva, Aircall, and Avaya did not place in the 2025 Leaders quadrant. Salesforce Service Cloud, despite a customer-service heritage longer than any pure-play CCaaS vendor, is not a 2025 CCaaS Leader.

Specific quadrant graph positions require the Gartner report itself. The Leader / Visionary / Challenger / Niche placement above is sourced from each vendor’s individual press release plus the Call Centre Helper recap of the 2025 MQ.

The category has a clean one-sentence definition

A CCaaS platform is the cloud software a contact center runs on. It routes voice, email, chat, SMS, social messages, and async channels. It records and analyses interactions. It gives supervisors real-time controls.

The “as a service” part has structural consequences. Pricing is per seat per month for most of the field. The published range in 2026 runs from $30 at Aircall Essentials to $225 at Talkdesk Industry Experience Clouds. Amazon Connect breaks the seat model with per-minute pricing. Twilio Flex offers three mutually exclusive models, including $1 per active user-hour. The platform itself runs in the vendor’s cloud and updates continuously. Hardware refresh cycles disappear.

That last sentence sounds like marketing. It is not. The 2017 launch of Amazon Connect, the November 2023 launch of native RingCX after years of NICE inContact OEM, and the September 2025 acquisition by RingCentral of CommunityWFM are all evidence of how fast the category iterates. If you sign a 3-year Talkdesk contract today, you are betting on a roadmap that will likely revise itself meaningfully twice before your contract ends.

What CCaaS typically includes, and where the depth varies

Most CCaaS platforms ship the same broad capability set. The depth varies materially by vendor and tier. These are common modules, not standard ones:

  • ACD routes inbound calls by skills, attributes, or AI-predicted intent.
  • IVR is the front-of-funnel menu, increasingly conversational rather than DTMF.
  • Omnichannel routing puts voice, email, web chat, SMS, WhatsApp, Apple Messages for Business, and social DMs through one engine.
  • Outbound dialer modes such as preview, progressive, and predictive carry compliance load: US TCPA and the FCC 3% abandonment cap.
  • Agent desktop is the unified workspace with screen pop, conversation history, knowledge base, and scripts.
  • Workforce Management covers forecasting, scheduling, intraday adjustments, and adherence tracking.
  • Quality Management handles recording, scoring, and coaching workflows.
  • Reporting spans real-time wallboards and historical reports, increasingly with LLM-driven conversation analytics.
  • AI features in 2026 typically include agent assist, real-time transcription, automated summarisation, and conversational IVR.
  • Integrations cover CRM (Salesforce, HubSpot, Dynamics), ticketing (Zendesk, ServiceNow), and identity (Okta, Microsoft Entra ID).

Not every vendor ships all ten in the entry tier. NICE CXone and Genesys Cloud CX bundle the deepest. Aircall and Nextiva start lighter. Amazon Connect and Twilio Flex are programmable platforms; engineering work assembles equivalent functionality.

The asymmetry matters at your RFP stage. A 50-seat shop on Aircall Essentials at $30 per seat does not get the workforce management surface that a 500-seat NICE CXone deployment does. Both vendors will say they “support WFM.” Only one ships it in the entry tier. Verify which one you are buying.

CCaaS, UCaaS, and CPaaS are not the same category

Three adjacent cloud-communications categories overlap enough to cause RFP confusion.

What it is Who uses it Typical pricing
CCaaS Contact center: ACD, IVR, omnichannel, dialer, agent desktop, WFM, QM Sales floors, support orgs, BPOs Per seat /mo
UCaaS Unified communications: business phone, video, team chat All employees Per user /mo
CPaaS Communications APIs: SMS, voice, programmable channels Developers embedding messaging in products Per message or per minute

Several vendors sell UCaaS + CCaaS bundles: RingCentral, 8x8, Vonage, Dialpad, and Nextiva. The bundle promise is one vendor, one master agreement, one platform.

Test the promise this way. Ask the vendor how many seat licenses your contact-center agent needs. If the answer is two, one UCaaS plus one CCaaS, then the bundle is a billing convenience and not a platform integration. RingCX is licensed separately from RingEX. 8x8 markets XCaaS as a single platform. Dialpad sells a more genuinely unified agent experience.

Twilio sits between CCaaS and CPaaS. Flex is a contact-center product built on Twilio’s CPaaS primitives. If you want a programmable surface, you choose Flex. If you want a packaged product, you choose elsewhere.

Published pricing splits the field into two halves

Most CCaaS vendors do not publish complete per-seat pricing. Where they do, the numbers tell a clear story about transparency.

Vendor Entry tier Voice tier Premium tier Minimum
RingCentral RingCX Standard $65 Standard $65 Elite $145 3 agents
Five9 Digital $119 (digital only) Core $159 Premium / Optimum / Ultimate (quote) 50 seats
Talkdesk Digital Essentials $85 Voice Essentials $105 Elite $165, Industry Clouds $225 3-year commit
AWS Amazon Connect $0.018/min (Basic) $0.018/min $0.038/min (Customer, AI bundled) None
Aircall Essentials $30 Essentials $30 Custom (sales-gated) per-license
8x8 XCaaS Sales-gated Sales-gated Sales-gated n/a
Vonage Priority / Premium (no rates) Same Same n/a
Genesys Cloud CX CX 1 / 2 / 3 published Same + AI Experience (custom) n/a
NICE CXone Sales-gated; Government $2/consumer/yr Same + Enlighten (custom) n/a
Dialpad $80 / $115 / $150 Same + $0.01-$0.02/min surcharges per-seat
Webex Contact Center Sales-gated; add-ons WFO $40, Webex Calling $8 Sales-gated Sales-gated n/a
Avaya AXP Sales-gated Sales-gated Sales-gated per-seat
Twilio Flex $1/active-user-hour $150/named user $35 + usage (existing Twilio only) n/a
Salesforce Service Cloud Sales-gated; Flex Credits $0.005 Voice with Telephony Providers Agentforce 1 Edition per-seat

Two patterns sit in this table. The vendors that compete on transparency, namely RingCentral, Five9, Talkdesk, Aircall, and Amazon Connect, publish enough that you can model a deployment without sales engagement. The vendors that compete on enterprise depth, namely NICE, Genesys, 8x8, Vonage, Webex, Avaya, and Salesforce, gate pricing entirely.

The 2026 development worth flagging: 8x8 removed all list pricing from its public site during the year. The plans-and-pricing page now shows tier labels (formerly X2 through X8) with no dollar figures and “Request a quote” buttons on every row. Salesforce marketing pages returned HTTP 403 to automated fetches during research, confirming a sales-gated, anti-bot posture.

A new freemium on-ramp emerged in 2026 worth noting: Talkdesk Express ships 25 licenses with a $100 credit, no commitment, available in the US and Canada for companies under 50 employees. It is the only zero-commit on-ramp from a 2025 Leader.

AI revenue disclosure is now a procurement signal

The single most material 2026 shift in vendor evaluation is whether AI claims come backed by disclosed revenue. Several vendors now report AI ARR in earnings calls. Most do not.

Vendor AI ARR disclosed Growth rate Source
NiCE $328M (FY2025) +66% YoY NICE earnings, FY2025
Genesys $250M+ (Q2 FY2026) +35% YoY in Cloud ARR ($2.2B) Genesys earnings, Q2 FY2026
Five9 $100M (Q4 2025) +50% YoY, accelerated from +41% Five9 Q4 2025 earnings call
RingCentral $100M new-product ARR AI ARR almost tripled YoY RingCentral Q3 2025 transcript
Talkdesk Not disclosed (private) n/a n/a
AWS Amazon Connect Not broken out n/a n/a
Dialpad Not disclosed (private) n/a n/a
8x8, Vonage, Aircall, Nextiva, Avaya, Webex CC Not disclosed n/a n/a

NICE leads on disclosed AI traction, with the fastest publicly reported AI revenue line in the category. Enlighten AI is sold across CXone tiers rather than as a premium add-on. Genesys reported Cloud ARR around $2.2 billion in Q2 FY2026 with AI ARR above $250 million, alongside a $1.5 billion investment from Salesforce and ServiceNow in 2024 and a confidentially filed S-1 ahead of a 2026 IPO targeting roughly $21 billion. Five9 disclosed $100 million in Enterprise AI ARR with growth accelerating from 41% to 50% year-over-year. RingCentral reported 5,800-plus paying customers for AIR, its AI Receptionist, and 4,300-plus for ACE, formerly RingSense, as of Q3 2025.

The takeaway is verifiable. When a vendor cites AI traction in your evaluation, the test is whether the figure was disclosed in an earnings call or sourced from a marketing slide. NICE, Genesys, Five9, and RingCentral pass that test. Talkdesk, Dialpad, AWS, and the privately held remainder cannot. Ask the question explicitly in your next demo.

The FedRAMP gap separates federal-eligible vendors from the rest

US federal procurement runs through FedRAMP. The 2025 Leaders split cleanly on this credential.

NICE holds FedRAMP Moderate authorization. Genesys holds FedRAMP. AWS Amazon Connect inherits FedRAMP through AWS. Salesforce Government Cloud Plus holds FedRAMP High plus DoD IL4, the strongest federal posture in the field even though Salesforce is not a 2025 CCaaS Leader.

The gap matters. Five9 holds GovRAMP membership and TexasRAMP Level 2, but does not publicly list FedRAMP authorization. RingCX does not display FedRAMP on its Trust Center badge wall. Twilio Flex holds SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and 27017, PCI DSS Level 1 and Level 4, and HIPAA-BAA, but does not hold FedRAMP. Avaya’s Trust Center scopes FedRAMP authorization to its Government Cloud product specifically, not the broader AXP platform.

If your evaluation is federal-procurement-led, the question is binary before features matter. Pick from NICE, Genesys, AWS, or Salesforce. The other Leaders and the broader field require written confirmation from your account team rather than a public badge check.

Migration off on-premise takes 9-12 months at enterprise scale

If your contact center runs on Avaya Aura, Cisco UCCX or UCCE, Genesys Engage on-premise, NICE on-premise, or a regional PBX-and-ACD stack, then your migration to CCaaS is not a like-for-like swap. Several things change at once.

Telephony moves to the vendor’s PSTN or you bring SIP trunks. Number porting takes four to eight weeks per region. Integrations get rebuilt, not lifted. Custom CTI screen pops to legacy CRMs are replaced by the new vendor’s pre-built integration. The new integration is usually faster, but the data model differs. Routing rules get re-modelled in the new platform’s logic. A faithful one-to-one port misses the opportunity to improve them. Most buyers take the opportunity.

Reporting changes. Year-over-year reporting requires data exports from your old platform to maintain a single source of truth. Change management is the long pole. Agent training, supervisor reskilling, IT operations handoff, and updated quality scorecards typically take eight to sixteen weeks for your team.

Industry-reported timelines run as follows. Enterprise migrations land in 9 to 12 months elapsed. Mid-market migrations land in 3 to 4 months. Greenfield CCaaS rollouts run 6 to 10 weeks. Treat these as planning estimates, not contractual commitments.

Five evaluation pitfalls that recur in failed deployments

Vendor-neutral observation across mid-market evaluations: most failed CCaaS purchases share root causes. The buyer typically trusted a per-seat headline and underweighted what sat behind it. Avoid these five recurring mistakes in your own evaluation.

  1. Trusting the per-seat sticker. The headline does not include PSTN minutes at projected volume, AI add-on consumption, premium support, storage overage, or implementation services. Build a 3-year TCO with these line items modelled. A 100-seat Talkdesk Elite deployment at $165 per seat over 36 months is $594,000 in committed licensing alone.
  2. Skipping the PSTN cost analysis. When the vendor says “unlimited inbound,” outbound and international are rarely included in your quote. RingCX bundles 2,000 IVR minutes plus 4,000 outbound domestic dialer minutes per seat per month, with no rollover. Five9 bundles 3,000 AI minutes per seat at AI-bearing tiers. Both vendors will quote you above sticker when the actual minute math shows up in your call volume.
  3. Ignoring the WFM gap. Vendors using OEM or partner-supplied WFM rarely match Verint, NICE, or Calabrio depth. If your operations lead lives in WFM, the bundled module is not the same product as a specialist suite.
  4. Underestimating change management. Agents resist new desktops harder than executives expect. Supervisor reporting habits take 60 to 90 days to rebuild. Plan for it explicitly in your implementation scope.
  5. Buying roadmap AI features instead of GA features. Several vendors demo features that are in early access or limited availability in English only. Score the GA column in your language. Roadmap counts as zero in your evaluation matrix.

What this guide omits

Several specific data points commonly cited in CCaaS coverage cannot be verified from current public sources. This guide omits them.

  • Total CCaaS global market size. Gartner forecasts exist behind subscription. Secondary sources cite figures in the $5-8 billion range, but specific numbers need a verified source before publication.
  • Cloud vs on-prem deployment share. “Majority of seats in cloud by 2025” is broadly true. Specific percentages require a verified analyst source.
  • Win-rate statistics in head-to-head deals. Public data does not support them. Any specific percentage is fabricated.
  • Exact Gartner quadrant graph positions for individual vendors. Public press releases name the Leader / Visionary / Challenger / Niche placement. Specific axis coordinates require the report.
  • Implementation timelines as fixed weeks. They vary widely by scope. Ranges above are industry-reported planning estimates.
  • Vendor-specific customer counts beyond what each vendor discloses. RingCentral discloses 5,800-plus AIR customers and 4,300-plus ACE customers. Talkdesk’s “50,000-plus customers” marketing claim likely includes inactive and trial accounts.

Methodology

This guide draws from each vendor’s official pricing page, the 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CCaaS press releases issued by the five named Leaders, the Call Centre Helper analyst recap of the September 2025 MQ, and the public earnings transcripts for the four public CCaaS vendors that disclose AI revenue: NICE listed as NASDAQ: NICE, Genesys still private with an S-1 confidentially filed, Five9 listed as NASDAQ: FIVN, and RingCentral listed as NYSE: RNG.

Verification process: each vendor pricing claim was cross-checked against the official site plus at least one 2026 third-party breakdown, including CloudTalk, the Nextiva blog, Platform28, and Capterra. AI ARR figures came from Q3 and Q4 2025 earnings calls or transcripts. FedRAMP authorization was verified against vendor Trust Center pages and the FedRAMP marketplace.

Pricing and tier composition shift quarterly across the category. Verify on the official pricing page for each vendor before quoting numbers internally.

For detailed reviews of each Leader, see NICE, Genesys, Five9, Talkdesk, and Amazon Connect. For UCaaS+CCaaS bundle vendors, see RingCentral RingCX, 8x8, Dialpad, Vonage, and Nextiva. For the head-to-head shortlists, see Five9 vs Talkdesk and Genesys vs NICE.

What each role does in a CCaaS deployment

  • Agent — picks up voice, chat, email, SMS and messaging in a single browser-based desktop, with customer history from Salesforce, ServiceNow or Microsoft Dynamics 365 rendered on the screen pop.
  • Supervisor — watches live queues, service level and abandonment across every channel from one dashboard, coaches through whisper, and steps into a struggling interaction with barge.
  • QA analyst — reviews recorded voice and digital interactions in the CCaaS quality module, scores agents against custom scorecards, and links coaching to the specific interaction (Cognigy-style auto-QA is now standard on 2025 Leader-quadrant platforms).
  • WFM manager — forecasts contact volume by channel from historical patterns, publishes multi-skill schedules to match forecast peaks, and reruns forecasts as intraday actuals arrive.
  • IT / telecom admin — provisions PSTN numbers through the vendor's global carrier footprint or brings existing SIP trunks, enforces SAML SSO through Okta or Microsoft Entra ID, and monitors platform reliability against the vendor's five-nines SLA.

Unified agent desktop and cross-channel history

In a modern CCaaS deployment the customer starts on chat, calls in later that day and follows up by email — and the agent sees one continuous timeline in the unified desktop instead of switching between four tools. Channel handoff preserves the customer's position in queue and the agent's case context. The supervisor watches the same journey in real time and can reassign the interaction to a specialist without asking the customer to repeat the case number.

Recommended vendors

RingCentral logo
RingCentral
★ 4.0 (1234)

UCaaS-first vendor with a tightly integrated CCaaS suite (RingCX).

from $65.00/seat/mo (annual)
Genesys logo
Genesys
★ 4.3 (1412)

Enterprise CCaaS leader with Genesys Cloud CX and AI Experience platform.

from $75.00/seat/mo
Five9 logo
Five9
★ 4.2 (987)

Outbound-strong CCaaS with mature predictive dialer and AI agents.

from $119.00/seat/mo (50-seat min)
Talkdesk logo
Talkdesk
★ 4.3 (2456)

Mid-market CCaaS with industry clouds and Talkdesk Copilot generative AI.

from $85.00/seat/mo (3-year commit)
NICE logo
NICE
★ 4.4 (1685)

NICE CXone — CCaaS + WEM leader with strong AI (Enlighten) and QA.

from $90.00/seat/mo
Vonage logo
Vonage
★ 4.0 (412)

UCaaS + CCaaS + CPaaS vendor (Ericsson) with developer-friendly APIs.

from $55.00/seat/mo
Dialpad logo
Dialpad
★ 4.4 (1893)

AI-first UCaaS + CCaaS with real-time transcription and Dialpad Ai.

from $80.00/seat/mo (third-party est)
8x8 logo
8x8
★ 4.0 (523)

XCaaS — combined UCaaS + CCaaS with global PSTN and X-Series tiers.

from $95.00/seat/mo
Aircall logo
Aircall
★ 4.5 (1247)

SMB-focused cloud call center with deep CRM integrations.

from $30.00/seat/mo (Essentials)
Nextiva logo
Nextiva
★ 4.5 (3185)

Unified Customer Experience Management (UCXM) — UCaaS + CCaaS + CRM.

from $60.00/seat/mo (CC tier)
Webex Contact Center logo
Webex Contact Center
★ 4.2 (287)

Cisco enterprise CCaaS — collaboration-first with deep PSTN and security.

from $75.00/seat/mo
Avaya logo
Avaya
★ 3.9 (183)

Legacy enterprise vendor moving to Avaya Experience Platform (AXP) cloud.

from $100.00/seat/mo
Amazon Connect logo
Amazon Connect
★ 4.1 (765)

AWS-native, pay-per-use CCaaS with deep cloud and ML services.

from $0.02/min (Basic) / $0.038 with AI
Twilio Flex logo
Twilio Flex
★ 4.4 (634)

Programmable, developer-first contact center built on Twilio CPaaS.

from $1.00/active-user-hour
Salesforce Service Cloud logo
Salesforce Service Cloud
★ 4.4 (5612)

CRM-native service platform with Service Cloud Voice CCaaS module.

from $165.00/seat/mo

Frequently asked questions

The five Leaders in the September 8, 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CCaaS are NiCE (11th consecutive year, highest Ability to Execute), Genesys (11th consecutive year), Five9 (8th time as Leader), Talkdesk (first time in Leaders, 5th MQ appearance), and AWS Amazon Connect (3rd consecutive year).

Published per-seat pricing: RingCentral RingCX $65-$145 (annual), Five9 Digital $119 / Core $159 (50-seat min), Talkdesk CX Cloud $85-$225 (3-year min), Aircall from $30, Amazon Connect $0.018/min Basic or $0.038/min with AI. NICE, Genesys, 8x8, Vonage, Dialpad, Webex Contact Center, Avaya, Salesforce, and Twilio Flex either fully or partially gate pricing.

In 2025-26 earnings: NICE $328M FY2025 AI ARR (+66% YoY), Genesys $250M+ Q2 FY2026 AI ARR, Five9 $100M Enterprise AI ARR (+50% YoY), RingCentral $100M new-product ARR with pure AI almost tripling. Private vendors (Talkdesk, Dialpad, Nextiva, Aircall, Avaya, Vonage) and AWS do not break out CCaaS AI revenue separately.

CCaaS is contact center software for agents handling external customer interactions. UCaaS is unified communications (business phones, video, team chat) for all employees. Vendors selling UCaaS + CCaaS bundles include RingCentral, 8x8, Vonage, Dialpad, and Nextiva.

In modern usage they are largely synonymous. "Call center software" historically meant voice-only on-premise; "contact center software" implies cloud-delivered and omnichannel (voice plus digital with unified routing).

Greenfield CCaaS deployments: 6-10 weeks. Mid-market migrations from on-premise: 3-4 months. Enterprise migrations from Avaya Aura, Cisco UCCE, or Genesys Engage on-premise: 9-12 months elapsed.

Under US TCPA and FCC rules, outbound predictive dialers must not abandon (drop) more than 3% of connected calls. Compliant CCaaS dialers enforce this rate-limit automatically. Five9 has the deepest TCPA tooling in cloud CCaaS due to its outbound DNA dating to 2001.

No. Salesforce Service Cloud (rebranded Agentforce Service at Dreamforce 25 in October 2025) is not in the 2025 Gartner CCaaS Magic Quadrant Leaders quadrant. The five Leaders are NiCE, Genesys, Five9, Talkdesk, and AWS Amazon Connect.

Compare: