All five vendors in the 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CCaaS Leaders quadrant are cloud-native. NICE CXone runs on the cloud platform built from the 2016 inContact acquisition. Genesys Cloud CX launched in 2015 as PureCloud, a ground-up rebuild on AWS. Five9 has been cloud-only since its 2001 founding. Talkdesk was born in the cloud in 2011. AWS Amazon Connect launched in March 2017. The on-premise contact center category has effectively become a migration category.
This guide covers what cloud contact center means in 2026, which vendors have completed the cloud transition and which remain mid-flight, what each Leader publishes about pricing, where the on-premise holdouts still live, and the structural caveats your evaluation should weigh before signing a multi-year cloud contract.
The 2025 Gartner Leaders quadrant is cloud-native, end to end
The September 8, 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CCaaS placed five vendors in the Leaders quadrant. Every one runs as cloud-native software:
- NiCE. CXone is cloud-delivered. 11th consecutive year as Leader. Highest on Ability to Execute. Furthest on Completeness of Vision.
- Genesys. Genesys Cloud CX is cloud-native, launched as PureCloud in 2015. 11th consecutive year as Leader.
- Five9. Cloud-only since its 2001 founding, IPO on NASDAQ in April 2014. 8th time as a Leader.
- Talkdesk. Cloud-only since its 2011 founding. First time in the Leaders quadrant, on its 5th MQ appearance.
- AWS Amazon Connect. Launched March 2017. Pay-per-minute pricing. 3rd consecutive year as Leader.
The other 2025 movement matters for buyers who still weight on-premise vendor relationships. Cisco Webex Contact Center fell from Challenger in 2024 to Niche Player in 2025. 8x8 dropped to Honorable Mention. Cisco UCCX and UCCE remain the dominant on-premise installed base outside Avaya, and migration off either platform is the principal Webex Contact Center buying motion in 2026.
On-premise has become a migration category, not a buying category
If you are evaluating contact center software in 2026, you are not choosing between cloud and on-premise. You are choosing between cloud platforms. The on-premise vendors that still ship are positioned around managed migration off their own legacy products.
Avaya is the most visible example. Avaya filed Chapter 11 in January 2017 and again in February 2023, emerging from the second filing in May 2023 under Apollo and Brigade Capital ownership. Avaya Experience Platform is the cloud product. Avaya Infinity launched April 22, 2025 as a separate cloud-native re-platforming. Both products exist to move Avaya Aura installations to cloud without changing vendors.
Cisco UCCX, UCCE, and HCS run on-premise at scale. Cisco’s cloud answer is Webex Contact Center, built from the BroadSoft acquisition with digital channels added via the 2021 Imimobile acquisition. Webex Contact Center customer wins concentrate on existing Cisco shops migrating off legacy on-premise contact center platforms.
Genesys Engage on-premise remains in market for installed-base customers. Genesys Cloud CX is the migration target. NICE sold on-premise products for decades and now sells CXone migration as the answer.
The pattern matters for procurement. If your shortlist includes Avaya AXP, Cisco Webex Contact Center, or any vendor’s on-premise legacy product, you are buying a managed transition rather than a fresh deployment. Time the contract accordingly.
Cloud-native and cloud-migrated are not the same thing
Not all “cloud” vendors built cloud platforms. Some lifted on-premise architectures to vendor-managed cloud and called the result CCaaS.
The cloud-native end of the spectrum runs deepest. Genesys Cloud CX was a ground-up AWS rebuild. Talkdesk and Five9 had no on-premise heritage to drag forward. Amazon Connect was built inside AWS for Amazon’s own customer service. RingCX launched November 2023 as RingCentral’s native build, replacing a legacy RingCentral Contact Center product that had been an OEM of NICE inContact.
The cloud-migrated end of the spectrum runs lighter. Avaya AXP carries Avaya Aura architectural decisions into cloud delivery. Cisco Webex Contact Center inherits BroadSoft and Imimobile design choices. NICE CXone, built from the 2016 inContact acquisition, predates much of the modern cloud-native pattern but has been continuously rebuilt.
The practical test for your evaluation: ask each vendor how often the underlying platform deploys new code. Cloud-native CCaaS typically ships continuous deployment, with multiple production releases per week and no scheduled customer downtime. Cloud-migrated CCaaS often ships on quarterly release trains with maintenance windows. Both can be production-grade; they handle change management differently.
Published cloud pricing splits the field into two halves
Most CCaaS vendors do not publish complete per-seat pricing. Where they do, the numbers tell a clear transparency story.
| Vendor | Entry tier | Voice tier | Premium tier | Minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RingCentral RingCX | Standard $65 | Standard $65 | Elite $145 | 3 agents |
| Five9 | Digital $119 (digital only) | Core $159 | Premium / Optimum / Ultimate quote | 50 seats |
| Talkdesk | Digital Essentials $85 | Voice Essentials $105 | Elite $165, Industry Clouds $225 | 3-year commit |
| AWS Amazon Connect | $0.018/min Basic | $0.018/min | $0.038/min Customer with AI | None |
| Aircall | Essentials $30 | Essentials $30 | Custom sales-gated | per-license |
| Genesys Cloud CX | CX 1 / 2 / 3 published | Same | + AI Experience custom | n/a |
| NICE CXone | Sales-gated; Government $2/consumer/yr | Same | + Enlighten custom | n/a |
| Dialpad | $80 / $115 / $150 third-party verified | Same | + $0.01-$0.02/min surcharges | per-seat |
| 8x8 XCaaS | Sales-gated, list pricing removed 2026 | Same | Same | n/a |
| Vonage | Priority / Premium named tiers, no rates | Same | Same | n/a |
| Webex Contact Center | Sales-gated; add-ons WFO $40, Webex Calling $8 | Sales-gated | Sales-gated | n/a |
| Avaya AXP | Sales-gated | Sales-gated | Sales-gated | per-seat |
| Twilio Flex | $1/active-user-hour | $150/named user | $35 + usage existing-Twilio only | n/a |
| Salesforce Service Cloud | Sales-gated; Flex Credits $0.005 each | Voice with Telephony Providers | Agentforce 1 Edition | per-seat |
Two patterns sit in this table. Vendors that compete on transparency, namely RingCentral, Five9, Talkdesk, Aircall, and Amazon Connect, publish enough that you can model a cloud deployment without sales engagement. Vendors that compete on enterprise depth, namely NICE, Genesys, 8x8, Vonage, Webex, Avaya, and Salesforce, gate pricing entirely.
The 2026 development worth flagging: 8x8 removed all list pricing from its public site during the year. Salesforce marketing pages returned HTTP 403 to automated fetches, confirming sales-gated, anti-bot posture. The transparency gap widened, not narrowed, between 2024 and 2026.
AI in cloud contact centers is now revenue-disclosed
The cloud transition unlocked the genuine AI investment cycle. Several vendors now report AI ARR in earnings calls, and the figures clarify which AI claims are real.
NICE disclosed $328M in AI annual recurring revenue for FY2025, growing 66% year-over-year. Genesys reported AI ARR above $250M in Q2 FY2026, with Cloud ARR around $2.2B growing 35%. Five9 disclosed $100M in Enterprise AI ARR in Q4 2025, accelerating from 41% to 50% year-over-year growth. RingCentral reported $100M in new-product ARR with pure AI ARR almost tripling year-over-year. The company also disclosed 5,800-plus paying customers for its AI Receptionist and 4,300-plus for its AI Conversation Expert as of Q3 2025.
The cloud delivery model is what makes these AI features economically viable. On-premise vendors cannot ship continuous LLM updates, retraining cycles, or model swaps without disrupting customer operations. Cloud-native vendors deploy AI updates without your agents noticing.
Talkdesk does not disclose AI revenue because it is a private company. AWS does not break out Amazon Connect AI separately. Dialpad, 8x8, Vonage, Nextiva, Aircall, Webex Contact Center, Avaya, and Salesforce have not publicly disclosed standalone CCaaS AI revenue lines.
If you are weighting AI maturity in your shortlist, the test is whether the figure was disclosed in an earnings call or sourced from a marketing slide. Ask the vendor directly during your next demo.
Cloud security and the FedRAMP gap
Cloud delivery changes your security posture in both directions. The vendor patches infrastructure faster than your team can. The vendor also holds your customer interaction data. Both consequences should sit in your evaluation matrix.
US federal procurement runs through FedRAMP. NICE holds FedRAMP Moderate authorization. Genesys holds FedRAMP. AWS Amazon Connect inherits FedRAMP through AWS. Salesforce Government Cloud Plus holds FedRAMP High plus DoD IL4, the strongest federal cloud posture in the field even though Salesforce is not a 2025 CCaaS Leader.
Five9 holds GovRAMP membership and TexasRAMP Level 2 but does not publicly list FedRAMP authorization. RingCX does not display FedRAMP on its Trust Center badge wall. Twilio Flex holds SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and 27017, PCI DSS Level 1 and Level 4, and HIPAA-BAA, but does not hold FedRAMP. Avaya scopes FedRAMP authorization specifically to its Government Cloud product.
Beyond FedRAMP, the broader cloud security baseline runs as follows. SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 are table stakes across the Leaders. HIPAA-BAA is standard. PCI DSS coverage depends on whether the vendor handles cardholder data or routes you to a payment partner. GDPR data residency in EU clouds is available across the Leaders, with specific country options varying.
Verify the badge wall on each vendor’s Trust Center page before quoting credentials internally. Public certification posture shifts quarterly.
Cloud-to-cloud migration is its own discipline
If you already run a cloud contact center and want to move to a different cloud platform, your migration is not the same as an on-premise to cloud project. The data center swap is gone. The integration rebuild remains.
Telephony stays cloud-based but the number-porting timeline still runs four to eight weeks per region. CRM connectors get rebuilt against the new vendor’s pre-built integration. CTI screen-pop logic gets re-modeled. Reporting changes, and year-over-year comparison requires data exports from the source platform.
The migration savings sit in skipped infrastructure work. You skip the data center decommissioning, the on-premise telephony retirement, and the network rebuild. You still pay for the integration rework and change management cycle.
Industry-reported timelines run as follows. Cloud-to-cloud migrations typically land in 2 to 4 months for mid-market deployments. Enterprise cloud-to-cloud migrations land in 6 to 9 months elapsed. Greenfield cloud rollouts run 6 to 10 weeks.
Treat these as planning estimates. Scope discipline at contract time matters more than vendor choice for hitting any specific go-live date.
Where cloud contact center still falls short
Cloud delivery does not eliminate every contact center pain point. Three structural gaps persist in 2026.
Customization depth. Cloud-native CCaaS optimizes for vendor-managed configuration. If your business runs custom IVR logic, custom agent desktop layouts, or custom routing rules that the vendor template does not support, your only recourse is Twilio Flex or Amazon Connect plus engineering work. Buying packaged cloud and customizing it is a recurring trap.
Data residency for sovereign clouds. EU sovereign cloud requirements, UK data localization, and Australian or Canadian residency rules vary by vendor. NICE, Genesys, and AWS publish region maps. Smaller vendors quote regions on a sales-engagement basis. Verify your country list before signing.
Vendor lock-in via integration depth. The 500-plus integration marketplace at RingCentral, the AppConnect marketplace at Talkdesk, the AppFoundry at Genesys, and the 600-plus AppExchange listings for Salesforce Service Cloud all bind your operations to one vendor over time. The strongest argument for staying with your current cloud vendor is rarely the platform; it is the rebuild cost of moving the integrations.
Five evaluation pitfalls that repeat in cloud deployments
Vendor-neutral observation across mid-market cloud evaluations: most failed cloud CCaaS purchases share root causes. Avoid these five recurring mistakes in your own evaluation.
- Trusting the per-seat sticker. The headline does not include PSTN minutes at projected volume, AI add-on consumption, premium support, storage overage, or implementation services. A 100-seat Talkdesk Elite deployment at $165 per seat over 36 months is $594,000 in committed licensing alone.
- Skipping the PSTN cost analysis. When the vendor says “unlimited inbound,” outbound and international are rarely included in your quote. RingCX bundles 2,000 IVR minutes plus 4,000 outbound domestic dialer minutes per seat per month, with no rollover.
- Treating cloud and cloud-native as identical. Avaya AXP, Cisco Webex Contact Center, and the legacy lineage of some NICE CXone modules run differently from the ground-up cloud-native platforms. Ask each vendor about deployment cadence and customer downtime windows.
- Underestimating change management. Agents resist new desktops harder than executives expect. Supervisor reporting habits take 60 to 90 days to rebuild in your team.
- Buying roadmap AI features instead of GA features. Several vendors demo features that are in early access or limited availability in English only. Score the GA column in your language; roadmap counts as zero in your evaluation matrix.
What this guide omits
Several specific data points commonly cited in cloud contact center coverage cannot be verified from current public sources. This guide omits them.
Total cloud CCaaS global market size requires a verified Gartner or Forrester source. Secondary sources cite figures in the $5-8 billion range, but specifics need a current attribution. The on-premise versus cloud seat split is broadly weighted toward cloud, but exact percentages need an analyst report. Cisco UCCX and UCCE remaining seat count is not publicly disclosed. Avaya pre-bankruptcy customer counts (e.g., “100,000 customers, 90% of Fortune 100”) are stale and should not be cited as current. Specific Gartner quadrant graph positions for individual vendors require the Gartner report itself.
Methodology
This guide draws from each vendor’s official pricing page, the 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CCaaS press releases issued by the five named Leaders, the Call Centre Helper analyst recap of the September 2025 MQ, public earnings transcripts for the four public CCaaS vendors that disclose AI revenue, and our internal research files.
Verification process: each vendor pricing claim was cross-checked against the official site plus at least one 2026 third-party breakdown. AI ARR figures came from Q3 and Q4 2025 earnings calls. FedRAMP authorization was verified against vendor Trust Center pages and the FedRAMP marketplace.
For detailed vendor reviews of the 2025 Cloud CCaaS Leaders, see NICE, Genesys, Five9, Talkdesk, and Amazon Connect. For UCaaS+CCaaS bundle vendors, see RingCentral RingCX, 8x8, and Dialpad. For category context, see What is CCaaS and Omnichannel contact center.
What each role does on a cloud contact center
- Agent — logs into a browser-based agent workspace from anywhere with an internet connection, handles voice and digital interactions with CRM screen-pops from Salesforce, HubSpot or Zendesk.
- Supervisor — monitors live queues, SLA, agent state and remote-worker adherence from one browser tab, coaches through whisper, and reassigns work across sites without a PBX ticket.
- QA analyst — reviews interaction recordings in the cloud QM module, scores agents against scorecards shared across sites, and tracks quality trends by team, tenure and shift.
- WFM manager — forecasts multi-site multi-skill volume in the native WFM tool, publishes schedules across time zones, and rebalances staffing intraday as actuals arrive.
- IT / telecom admin — provisions numbers and agents from a web console instead of a switch-room, enforces SSO through Okta, Microsoft Entra ID or Google Workspace, and inherits the vendor's compliance stack (SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, PCI DSS, FedRAMP where offered).
Unified agent desktop and cross-channel history
The cloud contact center gives the same agent desktop to a home-based agent in Manila, an office agent in Denver and a night-shift agent in Dublin. Every interaction — voice, chat, email, SMS, messaging — writes to the same customer record, so a channel switch or a shift handoff preserves the case context. The supervisor watches queues and coaching moments in the same dashboard regardless of where the agent is sitting.
Recommended vendors
RingCentral
★ 4.0 (1234)UCaaS-first vendor with a tightly integrated CCaaS suite (RingCX).
Genesys
★ 4.3 (1412)Enterprise CCaaS leader with Genesys Cloud CX and AI Experience platform.
Five9
★ 4.2 (987)Outbound-strong CCaaS with mature predictive dialer and AI agents.
Talkdesk
★ 4.3 (2456)Mid-market CCaaS with industry clouds and Talkdesk Copilot generative AI.
NICE
★ 4.4 (1685)NICE CXone — CCaaS + WEM leader with strong AI (Enlighten) and QA.
Vonage
★ 4.0 (412)UCaaS + CCaaS + CPaaS vendor (Ericsson) with developer-friendly APIs.
Dialpad
★ 4.4 (1893)AI-first UCaaS + CCaaS with real-time transcription and Dialpad Ai.
8x8
★ 4.0 (523)XCaaS — combined UCaaS + CCaaS with global PSTN and X-Series tiers.
Aircall
★ 4.5 (1247)SMB-focused cloud call center with deep CRM integrations.
Nextiva
★ 4.5 (3185)Unified Customer Experience Management (UCXM) — UCaaS + CCaaS + CRM.
Webex Contact Center
★ 4.2 (287)Cisco enterprise CCaaS — collaboration-first with deep PSTN and security.
Avaya
★ 3.9 (183)Legacy enterprise vendor moving to Avaya Experience Platform (AXP) cloud.
Amazon Connect
★ 4.1 (765)AWS-native, pay-per-use CCaaS with deep cloud and ML services.
Twilio Flex
★ 4.4 (634)Programmable, developer-first contact center built on Twilio CPaaS.
Salesforce Service Cloud
★ 4.4 (5612)CRM-native service platform with Service Cloud Voice CCaaS module.
Frequently asked questions
Cloud contact center software is CCaaS — multi-tenant SaaS that replaces on-prem systems (Avaya Aura, Cisco UCCE, legacy Genesys Engage) with vendor-managed cloud infrastructure. Every 2025 Gartner CCaaS Leader is cloud-native.
Hosted historically meant single-tenant on vendor hardware; cloud meant multi-tenant SaaS. The distinction collapsed in 2026 — most "hosted" solutions today are multi-tenant cloud.
The 2025 Gartner CCaaS Magic Quadrant Leaders — NICE, Genesys, Five9, Talkdesk, Amazon Connect — dominate cloud CCaaS. RingCentral, Dialpad, 8x8, Vonage and Nextiva bundle cloud CCaaS with UCaaS.
Per-seat licensing (most vendors, $30-$229/seat/mo), per-concurrent-user (Five9, $119-$229), per-minute usage (Amazon Connect, $0.018-$0.038), and hybrid Twilio Flex ($1/active-hour or $150/named seat).
Yes. Enterprise migrations from Avaya Aura, Cisco UCCE or Genesys Engage typically take 9-12 months elapsed with 6-12 months of dual-vendor overlap. See dedicated migration guides on this site.
Salesforce Government Cloud Plus holds FedRAMP High + DoD IL4. NICE CXone, Genesys Cloud CX, Amazon Connect, Webex Contact Center for Government and 8x8 XCaaS for Government hold FedRAMP Moderate.