Skip to content

Five9 Digital $119, Core $159 (50-seat min, per concurrent user). $100M Enterprise AI ARR +50% YoY. 8th-time Gartner Leader. No FedRAMP.

Five9 Review

Outbound-strong CCaaS with mature predictive dialer and AI agents.

★ 4.2 (987 reviews)
Quick facts
Starting price
$119.00/seat/mo (50-seat min)
Model
Paid
Best for
mid market, enterprise
Compliance
HIPAA, PCI L1, SOC 2

Five9 prices contact center seats per concurrent user rather than per named seat. Most CCaaS competitors price the other way. The distinction matters at any shift-based operation: a 200-named-agent contact center that runs 100 agents concurrent through staggered shifts buys 100 Five9 seats, not 200. The 50-seat minimum still applies, but the model changes total cost meaningfully for variable-utilization deployments. Five9 disclosed Enterprise AI annual recurring revenue of $100 million in Q4 2025, growing 50% year-over-year and accelerating from 41%. Enterprise AI now represents roughly 10% of Enterprise subscription revenue.

This review covers what Five9 is in 2026, what the company publishes about pricing (two of five tiers), how the outbound dialer DNA holds up against younger competitors, where the federal-procurement gap sits, and the documented limitations every evaluation should weigh. Five9 was named a Leader in the September 8, 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CCaaS for the 8th time, recognized for Completeness of Vision and Ability to Execute.

Company facts: public since 2014, outbound DNA from 2001

Five9 trades on NASDAQ under ticker FIVN. The company is headquartered in San Ramon, California, with operations across multiple US sites. Five9 was founded in 2001 with a predictive dialer core aimed at operations leaving on-premise Avaya and Aspect platforms.

The outbound DNA still defines the platform’s competitive position 25 years later. Five9’s dialer remains the most configurable in cloud CCaaS, the TCPA tooling is mature, and the professional services bench knows outbound math at scale. If your operation runs sales floors, collections agencies, or BPO outbound campaigns, Five9 sits structurally ahead of every other 2025 Leader on dialer depth.

Five9 went public on NASDAQ on April 4, 2014 (FIVN). FY2025 revenue reached $1.15 billion, up 10% year-over-year. Q4 2025 revenue hit $300 million, up 8%. Customers with more than $1 million ARR grew to 228 by Q4, expanding 24% year-over-year and now representing 59% of subscription revenue. The platform has successfully moved upmarket toward enterprise deployments without losing the outbound mid-market base.

Specific total customer count beyond the 228 above-$1M-ARR cohort is not publicly disclosed. Verify with your account team rather than asserting a number from third-party sources.

Genius AI ARR is the disclosed AI traction signal

Five9’s AI brand is Genius. The product surface includes Five9 Agent Assist (real-time guidance), Five9 IVA (Intelligent Virtual Agent for voice containment), Conversation Analytics (post-call topic and sentiment), and recent additions Agentic AI Agents and AI Trust & Governance (both surfaced on Q4 2025 earnings calls).

The financial disclosure is verifiable. Five9 reported $100 million Enterprise AI ARR in Q4 2025, growing 50% year-over-year and accelerating from 41% growth in earlier quarters. The acceleration matters: most vendor AI revenue lines grew rapidly in 2023 and 2024 and decelerated in 2025 as the base widened. Five9’s acceleration signals real customer adoption rather than initial-deployment uplift.

If you weight AI maturity in your shortlist, the test is whether the figure was disclosed in an earnings call or sourced from a marketing slide. Five9 passes that test. NICE leads on absolute AI ARR ($328M, +66%); Genesys reports $250M+ AI ARR with overall Cloud growth +35%; RingCentral disclosed $100M new-product ARR with pure AI nearly tripling. Talkdesk does not disclose AI revenue (private).

Pricing: two published tiers, three quote-only

Five9 publishes only the first two of five tiers on its official pricing page. The remaining three tiers require sales engagement.

Tier Per concurrent user /mo Status What’s included
Digital $119 Published Digital channels (email, chat, SMS, social) — no voice
Core $159 Published Voice ACD + IVR (voice-only entry)
Premium Custom (~$175-200 reported) Quote-only + WFO, QM, recording
Optimum Custom (~$200-230 reported) Quote-only + Workforce Optimization Plus
Ultimate Custom (~$230+ reported) Quote-only + Genius AI, Agent Assist, IVA

The published prices are firm rather than “starting from.” Third-party 2026 breakdowns cite the quote-only tier ranges above; treat them as planning estimates rather than firm rates.

50-seat minimum across all plans. The minimum excludes most SMB and small mid-market evaluations from the Five9 shortlist entirely. If your operation runs sub-50 seats, the published Aircall, RingCX, or Dialpad pricing models will fit better.

Per concurrent user, not per named seat. This is the structural pricing distinction. A 200-agent operation running 24/7 with three rotating shifts may buy 80 to 100 concurrent seats, not 200. Model the math against your actual shift pattern before quoting Five9 internally.

Real-world deployment costs run substantially higher than sticker. Third-party deployment-cost analyses cite $300 to $600 per seat all-in once CRM connectors, AI consumption, WEM named seats, SMS, and PSTN minutes are added. The published Digital and Core rates are the foundation; the actual quote will sit above them. Build a 3-year TCO with explicit line items for PSTN at projected minute volume, AI consumption above the bundled 3,000 minutes per seat, premium support, and storage overage.

AI minute bundling and the consumption math

Five9 bundles 3,000 AI minutes per seat per month at AI-bearing tiers before usage fees apply. The bundle covers Agent Assist transcription, IVA conversational AI, and Conversation Analytics. Above the bundled minutes, you pay per-minute AI consumption fees that vary by feature.

For a 100-seat operation projecting 200 AI-touched minutes per agent per day, you sit well within the bundle. For a 100-seat operation projecting 600 AI-touched minutes per agent per day (high-volume blended outbound plus inbound), you exit the bundle every month and incur per-minute fees. Model the AI minute math against your projected interaction patterns before signing the Ultimate tier.

The outbound dialer is still the strategic differentiator

Five9’s outbound DNA defines the buying motion. The platform ships preview, progressive, and predictive dialer modes with granular pacing controls. TCPA-aware list management is built in. FCC abandonment compliance is enforced at the 3% cap. Time-zone handling is configurable per campaign. DNC scrubbing is platform-native.

The dialer maturity matters for any operation where outbound voice is more than roughly 30% of volume. Sales floors, collections agencies, BPO outbound shops, and political and survey calling operations consistently choose Five9 over Talkdesk and RingCX because the compliance tooling and pacing controls are deeper.

Talkdesk ships an outbound dialer that is acceptable for blended teams but is not what you buy Talkdesk for. RingCX includes preview, progressive, and predictive modes through the Connect First acquisition heritage, and the platform handles blended workloads competently. Neither matches Five9 dialer depth.

For inbound-only deployments, the Five9 outbound DNA is structurally over-built. Inbound-only mid-market buyers often pick Talkdesk, RingCX, or NICE CXone instead because the dialer surface area carries cost they will not use.

Federal procurement: the FedRAMP gap

Five9 holds GovRAMP membership and TexasRAMP Level 2 authorization. Five9 does NOT publicly hold FedRAMP authorization.

The gap matters for federal procurement evaluations. NICE holds FedRAMP Moderate. Genesys holds FedRAMP. AWS Amazon Connect inherits FedRAMP through AWS. Salesforce Government Cloud Plus holds FedRAMP High plus DoD IL4. Five9 is structurally weaker on federal posture than every other 2025 Leader plus the leading non-Leader (Salesforce).

If your evaluation is federal-procurement-led, ask Five9 directly about FedRAMP timeline commitments before shortlisting. The GovRAMP membership signals an active path, but as of June 2026 the authorization has not surfaced publicly.

State-level posture is stronger. TexasRAMP Level 2 covers Texas public sector deployments. SOC 2 Type II is held independently and listed explicitly on the Five9 Trust Center. HIPAA-BAA is standard. PCI DSS coverage extends to standard contact center payment workflows.

Integrations and product portfolio

Five9 integrations cover CRM, helpdesk, identity, productivity, knowledge base, and AI overlay categories. CRM coverage includes Salesforce (deep integration following the post-Zoom-acquisition pivot to a Salesforce reseller partnership), HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Zendesk Sell, and Zoho CRM. Helpdesk and ticketing covers Zendesk, ServiceNow, Jira, and Freshdesk. Identity supports Okta, Microsoft Entra ID, Google Workspace SSO, and federated providers.

The product portfolio in 2026 spans Five9 Intelligent Cloud Contact Center (ACD, IVR, omnichannel digital, outbound dialer, WFO, QM), Genius AI suite (Agent Assist, IVA, Conversation Analytics, Agentic AI Agents, AI Trust & Governance), Five9 Workforce Optimization (WFM and QM, with Calabrio as a partner for deeper WFM), and recent AI-first agentic features positioned against Talkdesk Autopilot and NICE Mpower Agents.

Where Five9 still falls short

A vendor-neutral review names the gaps. Five9 has four documented limitations that should sit in your evaluation matrix.

The 50-seat minimum excludes SMB. If your operation is under 50 seats, Five9 is structurally not for you. Aircall, RingCX, and Dialpad sit better. The minimum is published policy rather than a negotiable.

Three of five pricing tiers are quote-only. AI features are concentrated in the top quote-only tier (Ultimate). Buyers wanting cleanly-priced AI bundled into a published tier should look at RingCX (AI bundled at Professional $95) or Talkdesk (Elite $165) before signing Five9 Ultimate.

Published per-seat pricing is meaningfully below all-in deployment cost. Third-party analysis suggests 2-3 times higher real-world cost once CRM connectors, AI consumption, WEM seats, SMS, and PSTN are added. Build the 3-year TCO with explicit line items rather than starting from the $119 Digital or $159 Core headline.

No FedRAMP authorization. GovRAMP membership and TexasRAMP Level 2 are the verified credentials. For federal procurement, NICE, Genesys, AWS, or Salesforce will procure faster.

How Five9 compares with the other 2025 Leaders

Five9 vs NICE CXone. Five9 leads on outbound dialer and TCPA tooling. NICE leads on omnichannel depth, WEM, and disclosed AI revenue growth. Federal buyers favor NICE (FedRAMP Moderate vs Five9 no FedRAMP).

Five9 vs Talkdesk. Five9 publishes Digital $119 and Core $159 entry tiers; Talkdesk publishes Digital Essentials $85 / Voice Essentials $105 / Elite $165 with a 3-year minimum. Five9 wins for outbound; Talkdesk wins for digital-first omnichannel.

Five9 vs Genesys Cloud CX. Both 2025 Leaders. Five9 leads on outbound DNA. Genesys leads on omnichannel depth, AI governance (ISO 42001), and analyst recognition (11-year Leader streak vs Five9’s 8 times).

Five9 vs AWS Amazon Connect. Per-seat (Five9) vs per-minute consumption (Amazon Connect $0.018/min Basic, $0.038/min Customer with AI). Federal posture favors Amazon Connect via AWS FedRAMP inheritance.

The bottom line for an outbound or blended evaluator

Five9 is the structural pick when outbound voice is a primary buying criterion. The platform ships the deepest dialer in cloud CCaaS, the TCPA compliance tooling is the most mature, and the AI ARR traction is verifiable through quarterly earnings. The per-concurrent-user pricing model favors shift-based operations where named-seat counts inflate quickly.

The cost is the 50-seat minimum, the published-versus-real-pricing gap, the FedRAMP authorization gap, and a quote-heavy pricing structure for AI-bearing tiers.

For outbound-heavy operations at 50-plus seats where dialer compliance matters and federal procurement is not required, Five9 belongs on every shortlist. For inbound-only mid-market, federal-procurement-led, or sub-50-seat operations, Talkdesk, RingCX, or NICE CXone fits better.

Verify current pricing and AI minute allocations with your Five9 account team. The published Digital and Core rates are firm; AI consumption and quote-only tiers move with negotiation.

Methodology

This review draws from the Five9 official pricing page, Q3 and Q4 2025 earnings calls and transcripts including the disclosed $100M Enterprise AI ARR figure, the September 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for CCaaS press release issued by Five9, the FedRAMP marketplace and GovRAMP membership listing.

Verification process: each pricing claim was cross-checked against the official site plus 2026 third-party breakdowns (CloudTalk, Platform28, Capterra). AI ARR figures came from Q4 2025 earnings calls. Compliance posture was verified against the Five9 Trust Center and the FedRAMP marketplace.

For category context, see What is CCaaS and Outbound Call Center. For head-to-head comparison, see Five9 vs Talkdesk. For other 2025 Gartner Leaders, see NICE, Genesys, Talkdesk, and Amazon Connect.

What each role sees on Five9

  • Agent — handles voice, chat, email, SMS, video and social in the Five9 Adapter for Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics 365, ServiceNow, Zendesk, Oracle Service Cloud or NetSuite with customer data on the screen pop.
  • Supervisor — watches live queues, SLA and agent state in Five9 Supervisor Plus, coaches through whisper, and joins any live interaction with barge.
  • QA analyst — auto-scores 100% of recorded interactions in Five9 AI Insights, evaluates against custom scorecards, and tracks agent-level quality trends over time.
  • WFM manager — runs Five9 WFO for forecasting, scheduling and adherence tracking (Calabrio integration remains available for deeper WFM), and rebalances staffing when volume shifts.
  • IT / telecom admin — provisions predictive, progressive, preview and manual outbound dialer campaigns in compliance with FCC 3% abandonment cap and TCPA, enforces SAML SSO, and monitors platform reliability against Five9's five-nines target.

Unified agent desktop and cross-channel history

Five9 pulls voice, digital and messaging into one agent adapter that lives inside Salesforce, ServiceNow or Zendesk, so the agent sees a customer's full history in the CRM record they already work from. A chat that escalates to a call keeps the case number, the agent's notes and the customer's position in queue. The supervisor sees the same threaded interaction and can reassign it to a specialist without a warm transfer.

Live estimator

Estimate your Five9 cost

Uses published $119.00/seat/mo (50-seat min) starting rate. Updates as you type.

Updated
Concurrent or named seats
Per seat / month
$119.00
Monthly total
$2975
Annual total
$35700

Estimator uses vendor-published list rates as anchor. Actual quotes vary by add-ons (AI, WFM, dialer minutes) — request a written quote before signing.

Free · No credit card

Book a Five9 demo

Vendor-facilitated. We forward your request to their sales team within 24 hours.

  • Choose a preferred date + time slot
  • 30-minute product walkthrough
  • Custom pricing based on your seat count
GDPR / CCPA compliant. Data forwarded once, not resold.
Request received. We logged your preferred slot () and our team will be in touch to confirm.
4.2
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
987 reviews
Core Functionality
4.2
Ease of Use
4.2
Integration Ecosystem
4.2
Pricing & Value
4.2
Customer Support
4.2
User Satisfaction
4.2
Ranked #9 of 15 in Contact Center Core
Category avg: 4.2/5.0
How we rate →

Screenshots

Pros

  • Best-in-class predictive and power dialer
  • Five9 Agent Assist and IVA AI maturely deployed
  • Strong outbound compliance tooling (TCPA, abandonment caps)

Cons

  • Inbound omnichannel less polished than Genesys
  • Higher entry price than mid-market competitors
  • Reporting UI dated in places

User Reviews

Write a review

No reviews yet for Five9.

Be the first to review
Compare: