Skip to content

Five9 8th-time Leader, Core $159 per concurrent user, 50-seat min. Talkdesk first-time 2025 Leader, Voice Essentials $105, 3-year commit.

Five9 vs Talkdesk

Updated September 2026 · Contact Center Core software comparison

Five9

Five9

Visit ↗

Outbound-strong CCaaS with mature predictive dialer and AI agents.

★ 4.2 987 reviews from $119.00/seat/mo (50-seat min)
Talkdesk

Talkdesk

Visit ↗

Mid-market CCaaS with industry clouds and Talkdesk Copilot generative AI.

★ 4.3 2456 reviews from $85.00/seat/mo (3-year commit)
15
Vendors reviewed
20
Integrations tracked
16
Comparisons
2026
Last verified

Both Five9 and Talkdesk are 2025 Gartner CCaaS Magic Quadrant Leaders, but the analyst recognition masks fundamentally different operating profiles. Five9 (NASDAQ: FIVN) was founded in 2001 with a predictive dialer core for outbound sales and collections; the 2025 Leader placement is its 8th time in the quadrant. Talkdesk is private, founded 2011 in San Francisco, and entered the Leaders quadrant for the first time in 2025 on its 5th MQ appearance. Five9 publishes Digital $119 (digital channels only) and Core $159 (voice with ACD and IVR) per concurrent user, with a 50-seat minimum and disclosed Q4 2025 Enterprise AI ARR of $100 million growing 50% year-over-year. Talkdesk publishes Digital Essentials $85, Voice Essentials $105, Elite $165, and Industry Experience Clouds $225 per user per month, all on a mandatory 3-year minimum commitment, with Copilot and Autopilot agentic AI pricing not publicly disclosed and AI revenue not publicly broken out because Talkdesk is private. The structural decision in your evaluation turns on three axes: channel mix (outbound voice vs digital-first omnichannel), pricing transparency vs term commitment (Five9 per-concurrent-user with shorter terms vs Talkdesk per-named-user with 3-year lock-in), and AI disclosure preference (Five9 quarterly earnings transparency vs Talkdesk private-company opacity).

At a Glance

Criteria Five9 Talkdesk
Overall Rating ★ 4.2
987 reviews
★ 4.3
2456 reviews
Starting Price $119.00 /seat/mo (50-seat min) $85.00 /seat/mo (3-year commit)
Pricing Model Paid Paid
Free Trial No No
Deployment cloud cloud
Best For Mid Market, Enterprise Smb, Mid Market, Enterprise

Strengths & Weaknesses

Five9
Talkdesk
Pros
Best-in-class predictive and power dialer
Modern UI loved by agents
Five9 Agent Assist and IVA AI maturely deployed
Industry-specific clouds (Retail, Financial, Healthcare)
Strong outbound compliance tooling (TCPA, abandonment caps)
Aggressive AI roadmap with Talkdesk Copilot and Autopilot
Cons
Inbound omnichannel less polished than Genesys
Reporting and historical analytics depth lags Genesys
Higher entry price than mid-market competitors
Limited dialer capability vs Five9
Reporting UI dated in places
Some integrations require Talkdesk-side configuration

Company DNA: 25 years of outbound vs 15 years of digital omnichannel

Five9 launched in 2001 in San Ramon, California, with a predictive dialer aimed at operations leaving on-premise Avaya and Aspect platforms. The outbound DNA still defines the platform. Twenty-five years of FCC TCPA compliance engineering, DNC list scrubbing investment, state-by-state two-party consent handling, and predictive-dialer pacing algorithms create a competitive moat for outbound-heavy buyers that Talkdesk does not match.

Talkdesk launched in 2011 in San Francisco as a cloud-native omnichannel CCaaS platform built for digital-first mid-market teams. The agent and supervisor UX is consistently described as the most polished in the Leaders quadrant. The Industry Experience Clouds (Retail, Financial Services, Healthcare) introduced vertical packaging that ships pre-built integrations and conversation models, shortening implementation for those verticals.

The DNA mismatch with your operation, more than any specific feature gap, derails CCaaS deployments two years in. Match the vendor to the channel mix.

Pricing: published transparency vs term commitment

Five9 publishes only the first two of five tiers. Digital at $119 per concurrent user per month covers digital channels (no voice). Core at $159 per concurrent user per month covers voice ACD and IVR. Premium, Optimum, and Ultimate tiers require quote-only sales engagement. Genius AI bundles 3,000 AI minutes per seat per month at AI-bearing tiers before usage fees apply.

The 50-seat minimum gates SMB and small mid-market evaluations. The per-concurrent-user model favors shift-based operations: a 200-named-agent contact center running 100 concurrent through staggered shifts buys 100 Five9 seats, not 200. The math shifts cost meaningfully against per-named-seat competitors.

Talkdesk publishes Digital Essentials $85, Voice Essentials $105, Elite $165, and Industry Experience Clouds $225 per user per month. All tiers require a 3-year minimum commitment. Talkdesk does NOT publish Copilot, Autopilot, or Navigator pricing; they are quote-based add-ons even on Elite. A new Talkdesk Express tier launched as freemium for sub-50-employee operations in the US and Canada with 25 licenses and $100 credit.

For your TCO comparison: 100-seat Talkdesk Elite at $165 over 36 months commits $594,000 in licensing. 100-seat Five9 Core on annual terms at $159 commits $190,800 per year with renegotiation leverage each renewal. Match the commitment to your contract horizon.

Outbound dialer: where Five9 wins by margin

Five9 ships preview, progressive, and predictive dialer modes with granular pacing controls, TCPA-aware list management built in, FCC 3% abandonment compliance enforced at the cap, time-zone handling configurable per campaign, and DNC scrubbing platform-native. The depth is the deepest in cloud CCaaS.

Talkdesk ships outbound dialer modes through CX Cloud. The pacing modes are competent for blended teams handling 20-30% outbound. For pure-play outbound operations, the compliance tooling depth does not match Five9.

If outbound voice is more than 30% of your contact mix, Five9 sits structurally ahead. If outbound is occasional follow-up rather than a primary buying criterion, the Talkdesk dialer is sufficient.

Omnichannel digital channels: where Talkdesk wins

Talkdesk treats email, web chat, SMS, WhatsApp Business API, Apple Messages for Business, and major social messaging as first-class with a unified routing engine. The agent desktop carries cross-channel conversation history without channel-switching friction.

Five9 handles digital channels but the experience and admin tooling feel bolted on by comparison. Five9 Digital tier at $119 covers digital-only deployments but the platform’s heritage is voice-first.

If digital is more than one-third of your contact mix, Talkdesk fits naturally. If digital is supplemental to voice operations, Five9 is sufficient.

AI disclosure: $100M ARR vs private opacity

Five9 disclosed Q4 2025 Enterprise AI ARR of $100 million, growing 50% year-over-year and accelerating from 41%. Enterprise AI now represents roughly 10% of Enterprise subscription revenue. The figures are sourced and dated in earnings transcripts.

Talkdesk does not disclose AI revenue. The company is private, no quarterly earnings call exists, and customer-count claims (50,000-plus per marketing) almost certainly include inactive and trial accounts. 2024 ARR estimates around $420 million come from third-party aggregators, not from Talkdesk itself.

When a vendor cites AI traction during evaluation, the test is whether the figure was disclosed in an earnings call or sourced from a marketing slide. Five9 passes the test. Talkdesk cannot.

Gartner 2025 Magic Quadrant: both Leaders, different paths

The September 8, 2025 MQ named both vendors as Leaders alongside NICE, Genesys, and AWS Amazon Connect. Five9’s placement was its 8th time as a Leader, recognized for Completeness of Vision and Ability to Execute. Talkdesk’s placement was first-time-in-Leaders status after four prior MQ appearances outside the Leaders quadrant. Industry analyst Call Centre Helper described the 2025 MQ as “real movement after years of relative stability.”

Both vendors are credible Leader picks. The choice rarely comes down to quadrant graph distance; it comes down to channel mix fit.

Implementation and time to value

Five9 mid-market implementations typically run 10-16 weeks for standard omnichannel deployments. Outbound-only deployments are faster (6-8 weeks). Heavy professional services involvement is the norm.

Talkdesk mid-market implementations typically run 6-12 weeks. The partner ecosystem is broad. Industry Experience Cloud packages (Retail, Financial Services, Healthcare) meaningfully cut implementation time when your use case maps cleanly to the vertical template.

Scope discipline at contract time matters more than vendor choice for hitting any specific go-live date.

Federal procurement: both have gaps

Five9 holds GovRAMP membership and TexasRAMP Level 2 but does NOT publicly hold FedRAMP authorization. Talkdesk’s FedRAMP scope is open research as of June 2026; the Trust Center does not enumerate the specific authorization tier.

For federal-procurement-led evaluations, both vendors require explicit account-team commitment. NICE CXone (FedRAMP Moderate), Genesys (FedRAMP), AWS Amazon Connect (FedRAMP via AWS), or Salesforce Government Cloud Plus (FedRAMP High plus DoD IL4) are structurally easier paths for federal procurement.

Honest concessions before you pick

Yes, Talkdesk wins on first-time 2025 Gartner CCaaS MQ Leader, 100+ AppConnect integrations, Industry Experience Clouds (Retail, FinServ, Healthcare). Five9's honest weakness against that is no FedRAMP (GovRAMP only) and 50-seat minimum on Digital/Core tiers. But Five9 still wins on 2025 Gartner CCaaS MQ Leader, outbound dialer heritage (predictive/progressive/preview/manual), $100M AI ARR, and Talkdesk's honest weakness against that is 3-year minimum contract commit on Digital Essentials / Voice Essentials / Elite / Industry Clouds tiers. The comparison is not a shootout with one clear winner — it is a fit question mapped to the operation you actually run.

Pick Five9 when your operation depends on 2025 gartner ccaas mq leader outbound dialer heritage (predictive/progressive/preview/manual) $100m ai arr more than on first-time 2025 Gartner CCaaS MQ Leader, 100+ AppConnect integrations, Industry Experience Clouds (Retail, FinServ, Healthcare).

Pick Talkdesk when your operation depends on first-time 2025 gartner ccaas mq leader 100+ appconnect integrations industry experience clouds (retail finserv healthcare) more than on 2025 Gartner CCaaS MQ Leader, outbound dialer heritage (predictive/progressive/preview/manual), $100M AI ARR.

Migration reality — the agent-retraining tax

Any switch between these two platforms carries a two-to-six-week agent-retraining window. New desktop layout, new keyboard shortcuts, new IVR dispositions, new supervisor coaching workflows. Budget the training time inside the ROI model, not around it. The seat-license savings you calculate against list pricing are eroded — sometimes fully — by the productivity dip in weeks one through four after cutover.

Who Should Choose Which?

Choose Five9 if…
  • Your team fits the mid market or enterprise profile
  • Your preferred deployment is cloud
  • Best-in-class predictive and power dialer
Choose Talkdesk if…
  • Your team fits the smb or mid market or enterprise profile
  • Budget matters — Talkdesk starts $34 cheaper per month
  • You prioritise peer-verified quality — higher rating (4.3 vs 4.2)
  • Your preferred deployment is cloud
  • Modern UI loved by agents

Our Verdict

Both Five9 and Talkdesk are 2025 Gartner CCaaS Magic Quadrant Leaders. That part of the head-to-head is settled.

The structural fit decision is sharper than the analyst placement suggests. Five9 wins for outbound-heavy operations because the dialer maturity, TCPA tooling, and FCC compliance are deeper than anything Talkdesk ships. Talkdesk wins for digital-first omnichannel mid-market because the agent desktop, supervisor console, and Industry Experience Clouds reduce implementation friction.

Pricing transparency favors Five9 on the published two-tier basis ($119 Digital, $159 Core). Term commitment favors Five9 on annual versus Talkdesk’s 3-year minimum. AI revenue transparency strongly favors Five9 on the disclosed $100 million Enterprise AI ARR figure. Talkdesk’s published Voice Essentials $105 and Elite $165 are competitive on sticker, but Copilot, Autopilot, and Navigator add-ons remain quote-only.

Two failure modes recur in head-to-head evaluations. Buyers pick Five9 for a digital-heavy operation because procurement trusts the public-company financials, then spend two years fighting an agent desktop that lags Talkdesk’s polish. Buyers pick Talkdesk for an outbound-heavy operation because the demo looked modern, then spend two years bolting compliance tooling onto an inadequate dialer. Both failures are avoidable by matching DNA to channel mix at the RFP stage.

Five9 if dialer and outbound compliance are non-negotiable. Talkdesk if digital-first omnichannel and a vertical Experience Cloud fit your use case. For federal-procurement-led evaluations, look beyond both to NICE CXone, AWS Amazon Connect, or Salesforce Government Cloud Plus.

Talkdesk
Talkdesk edges ahead with a higher overall rating (★ 4.3 vs ★ 4.2) and stronger review volume (2456 vs 987 verified reviews) .

Five9 targets mid_market/enterprise businesses with paid pricing starting at $119.00/seat/mo (50-seat min). Its strongest selling points include best-in-class predictive and power dialer and five9 agent assist and iva ai maturely deployed.

Talkdesk targets smb/mid_market/enterprise businesses with paid pricing starting at $85.00/seat/mo (3-year commit). Its key advantages include modern ui loved by agents and industry-specific clouds (retail, financial, healthcare).

Both tools are reviewed independently — see the full reviews below to dig into integrations, implementation timelines, and user sentiment.

Free · No credit card

Book a vendor demo

Vendor-facilitated. We forward your request to their sales team within 24 hours.

  • Choose a preferred date + time slot
  • 30-minute product walkthrough
  • Custom pricing based on your seat count
GDPR / CCPA compliant. Data forwarded once, not resold.
Request received. We logged your preferred slot () and our team will be in touch to confirm.
Compare: